UNEP/AEWA Secretariat

The UNEP/AEWA Secretariat can be contacted at:

UNEP/AEWA Secretariat
UN Campus
Platz der Vereinten Nationen 1
53113 Bonn

Tel.: +49 (0)228 815 2413
Fax: +49 (0)228 815 2450/2470
Email: aewa.secretariat@unep-aewa.org

AEWA National Focal Points

National Focal Points (NFP) are the government-appointed officials responsible for overseeing and guiding the implementation of AEWA nationally and liaising with the Secretariat, as well as their counterparts in other Contracting Parties. See the Terms of Reference for more information on the roles, responsibilities and functioning of the AEWA NFPs. The template letter to nominate a new National Focal Point can be found below.

List of AEWA National Focal Points as of 7 May 2024

AEWA National Focal Point Designation Form


AEWA Technical Focal Points

Technical Focal Points (TFP) are government-appointed technical experts appointed according to Resolution 2.5.

List of AEWA Technical Focal Points as of 27 February 2024


AEWA Standing Committee Membership

The Standing Committee membership comprises seven members: five regional representatives, two for Europe and Central Asia including the Russian Federation and one each for the Middle East and North Africa, Western and Central Africa, and Eastern and Southern Africa; a representative of the host country of the next Meeting of the Parties; and a representative of the Depositary. The Chair of the Technical Committee is also invited to attend as an observer.

AEWA Standing Committee members and regional representatives


AEWA Technical Committee Membership

The Technical Committee membership comprises nine regional representatives (Northern & Southwestern Europe, Central Europe, Eastern Europe, Southwestern Asia, Northern Africa, Central Africa, Western Africa, Eastern Africa and Southern Africa) elected among all the Parties of the region in question;

  • One representative appointed by each of the following organizations: the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN), Wetlands International, the International Council for Game and Wildlife Conservation (CIC); and
  • One thematic expert from each of the following fields: rural economics, game management, and environmental law, elected by the Parties.

Observers of non-Party Range States and the Chairperson of the AEWA Standing Committee may be invited to the meetings of the Technical Committee. A maximum of four observers from specialized international inter-governmental and non-governmental organizations can also be admitted and in addition invited experts may be asked to contribute to specific topics.

AEWA Technical Committee membership


AEWA National Focal Points for Communication, Education and Public Awareness (CEPA)

AEWA National Focal Points for Communication, Education and Public Awareness (CEPA) act as an official channel for all CEPA-related matters.

AEWA National Focal Points for CEPA as of 27 February 2024


Sub-regional Focal Point Coordinators for Africa

The AEWA Sub-regional Focal Point Coordinators are responsible for guiding and motivating the implementation of the AEWA Plan of Action for Africa 2012-2018 (equally adopted by Resolution 5.9) in their respective sub-region. They will be supported by the other AEWA National Focal Points as well as the UNEP/AEWA Secretariat, the Technical Support Unit (TSU) offered by the Government of France, and other relevant partners.

Sub-regional Focal Point Coordinators for Africa