CEPA activities

Nomination of AEWA National CEPA Focal Points

The 5th Meeting of the Parties to AEWA (MOP5) adopted Resolution 5.5 – Implementation and Revision of the Communication Strategy - which “invites all Contracting Parties to nominate, by 31 December 2012, a suitable National Focal Point for Communication, Education and Public Awareness (CEPA), either from the governmental or non-governmental sector”.

In accordance with Resolution 5.5, the UNEP/AEWA Secretariat would appreciate if AEWA Contracting Parties could appoint a National Focal Point to act as an official channel for all CEPA related matters by 31 December 2012*.

Countries which are a Contracting Party to AEWA as well as the Ramsar Convention on Wetlands could consider appointing the same CEPA Focal Point for both AEWA and Ramsar. In case the CEPA Focal Points are different a close cooperation between the two would be desirable.

Completed AEWA CEPA Focal Point designation forms should be submitted to the UNEP/AEWA Secretariat either per email: aewa.secretariat@unep-aewa.org

or via Fax: +49 228 815 2450

or by regular mail to:

        UNEP/AEWA Secretariat
        c/o CEPA Focal Point Nomination
        UN Campus
        Platz der Vereinten Nationen 1
        53113 Bonn


Other relevant information on CEPA:


* Although the deadline has passed, the UNEP/AEWA Secretariat still accepts nominations.