

AGREEMENT ON THE CONSERVATION OF AFRICAN-EURASIAN MIGRATORY WATERBIRDS



7th SESSION OF THE MEETING OF THE PARTIES

4-8 December 2018, Durban, South Africa

"Beyond 2020: Shaping flyway conservation for the future"

RESOLUTION 7.10

INSTITUTIONAL ARRANGEMENTS: STANDING COMMITTEE

Recalling Resolution 2.6 regarding the establishment of the Standing Committee and, in particular, the composition of its membership,

Further recalling the tasks given to the Standing Committee as laid down in Resolutions 2.6, 4.6, 4.17, 5.17 and 6.16,

Acknowledging the active role the Standing Committee has played in overseeing, as representative of the Meeting of the Parties, the implementation of the Agreement and the functioning of the Secretariat,

Further acknowledging that the Standing Committee has provided guidance and advice to the UNEP/AEWA Secretariat on the implementation of the Agreement, on the preparation of meetings and any other matters,

The Meeting of the Parties:

1. *Adopts* the revised regionalization scheme for the operation of the AEWA Standing Committee as presented in Annex 1;

2. *Approves* the list of elected or reconfirmed regional representatives for the Standing Committee, as follows:

Region	<u>Representative</u>	<u>Alternate</u>
Europe and Central Asia (1)	United Kingdom	Luxembourg
Europe and Central Asia (2)	Ukraine	Republic of Moldova
Middle East and Northern Africa	Algeria	Egypt

Western and Central Africa	Côte d'Ivoire	Nigeria
Eastern and Southern Africa	South Africa	Ethiopia

3. *Re-confirms* that the Standing Committee should also include a representative of the host country for the next session of the Meeting of the Parties as well as a representative of the Depositary;

4. *Agrees* that the Standing Committee will meet at least once between the 7th and the 8th Sessions of the Meeting of the Parties;

5. *Decides* to make a provision in the Budget 2019-2021 for payment, upon request, of reasonable and justifiable travel expenses of appointed Standing Committee members from developing countries and countries with economies in transition, within the policy agreed by the Meeting of the Parties;

6. *Requests* Contracting Parties to provide financial assistance to developing countries and countries with economies in transition that are Parties to the Agreement, to be represented at meetings of the Standing Committee by an observer.

Annex 1: AEWA regionalization scheme for the operation of the Standing Committee¹

EUROPE AND CENTRAL ASIA		
Europe:	Central Asia:	
ALBANIA, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, BELARUS, BELGIUM, Bosnia- Herzegovina, BULGARIA, Canada, CROATIA, CYPRUS, CZECH REPUBLIC, DENMARK, ESTONIA, FINLAND, FRANCE, GEORGIA, GERMANY, Greece ² , HUNGARY, ICELAND, IRELAND, ISRAEL, ITALY, LATVIA, Liechtenstein, LITHUANIA, LUXEMBOURG, Malta, MONACO, MONTENEGRO, NETHERLANDS, NORWAY, Poland, PORTUGAL, REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA, ROMANIA, Russian Federation, San Marino, Serbia, SLOVAKIA, SLOVENIA, SPAIN, SWEDEN, SWITZERLAND, THE FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA, Turkey, UKRAINE, UNITED KINGDOM OF GREAT BRITAIN AND NORTHERN	Central Asia: Iran (Islamic Republic of), Kazakhstan, Turkmenistan, UZBEKISTAN	
IRELAND EASTERN AND SOUTHERN AFRICA Eastern Africa: BURUNDI, DJIBOUTI, Eritrea, ETHIOPIA, KENYA, RWANDA, Somalia, South Sudan, SUDAN, UGANDA, UNITED REPUBLIC OF TANZANIA WESTERN AND CENTRAL AFRICA	Southern Africa: Angola, BOTSWANA, Comoros, ESWATINI, Lesotho, MADAGASCAR, Malawi, MAURITIUS, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, SOUTH AFRICA, Zambia, ZIMBABWE	
Western Africa:	Central Africa	
BENIN, BURKINA FASO, Cabo Verde, CÔTE D'IVOIRE, GAMBIA, GHANA, GUINEA, GUINEA-BISSAU, Liberia, MALI, MAURITANIA, NIGER, NIGERIA, SENEGAL, Sierra Leone, TOGO	Cameroon, Central African Republic, CHAD, CONGO, Democratic Republic of Congo, EQUATORIAL GUINEA, GABON, Sao Tome and Principe	
MIDDLE EAST AND NORTH AFRICA		

¹ AEWA Contracting Parties are indicated in capital letters. ² Signed but not ratified.

Middle East:	North Africa:
Bahrain, Iraq, JORDAN, Kuwait, LEBANON,	ALGERIA, EGYPT, LIBYA, MOROCCO,
Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, SYRIAN ARAB	TUNISIA
REPUBLIC, United Arab Emirates, Yemen	