© Nature Uganda; © Tim Dodman

The AEWA Plan of Action for Africa is the operational guideline for the implementation of the African Initiative. The plan, developed in a highly consultative process and adopted at the 5th Session of the Meeting of AEWA Parties in 2012, identifies a variety of concrete actions to translate the objectives of the AEWA Strategic Plan into tangible results on the ground.

The measures included in the Plan cover the key activity areas of the Agreement, such as  developing  and  implementing  Species Action Plans, identifying and establishing a  network of well-managed and protected sites of national and international importance for waterbirds, capacity-building for waterbird conservation and increasing the membership of the Agreement in Africa.

The Plan of Action for Africa places particular emphasis on enhanced national capacity for the implementation of AEWA in Africa. Another priority is the involvement of local communities in waterbird conservation - an approach promoted   through pilot projects that are aimed at  strengthening local livelihoods at the same time as conservation efforts.


Responsibility for the implementation of the Plan of Action for Africa lies with the AEWA Contracting Parties in Africa. The Plan can only be effective if the African  Range States mainstream the proposed activities into appropriate national action plans, strategies, policies and other implementation tools, and allocate financial and  human resources for implementation at the national level. AEWA Ranges States from other regions, partner organizations and the private sector can also make an important contribution, for example by providing additional financial or material support towards the implementation of activities in the Plan.

The UNEP/AEWA Secretariat provides guidance on the overall implementation of the African Initiative, including the Plan of Action for Africa. At the sub-regional level, specific guidance is provided by five Sub-regional Focal Point Coordinators, nominated from among the AEWA National Focal Points. Additional technical support is provided by a Technical Support Unit (TSU), offered by the Governments of France and Senegal. The TSU is made up of experts from the Senegal Department of National Parks, the French Department of Water and Biodiversity (DEB), the Tour du Valat Research Centre and the French Hunting and Wildlife Agency (ONCFS).


Follow the links below to find out more about the African Initiative: