AEWA Conservation Award 2018 - Call for Nominations

Bonn, 27 March 2018 - Institutions and citizens from all nations are invited to nominate individuals or institutions – governmental and non-governmental, including community groups or private sector enterprises – of any country in the Agreement area for the fifth edition of the AEWA Waterbird Conservation Award.

If you wish to nominate an individual or institution deserving particular merit, please submit your nomination to the UNEP/AEWA Secretariat, to Ms. Catherine Lehmann ( The deadline for submission of nominations is 4 June 2018.

The Award will be decided upon by the AEWA Standing Committee at its 13th meeting on 3 – 5 July 2018 and presented to the winners in both categories at the 7th session of the Meeting of Parties to AEWA on 4 – 8 December 2018 in South Africa. In both categories the Award will, however, not be endowed with prize money due to financial limitations.

The AEWA Waterbird Conservation Award was established in 2005 by the AEWA Standing Committee in order to recognize and honour individuals, as well as government and non-government organizations and enterprises. Recipients should have made a significant contribution towards long-term conservation and sustainable use of waterbirds in the African-Eurasian region.

The Award is conferred every three years, at each ordinary session of the Meeting of the Parties (MOP) and is presented in two categories, institutional and individual.

For more information on the criteria and procedures and to download nomination forms please click here.

Last updated on 27 March 2018

News item